Package deal! Tagbilaran Mayor Yap, VM Veloso, almost entire council seek re-election

0 852

TAGBILARAN CITY — Tagbilaran City Mayor John Geesnell “Baba” Yap and his party mates filed their certificates of candidacy (COC) at the local Commission on Elections office here on Tuesday.

Yap, who was celebrating his 41st birthday, filed his COC together with running mate Vice Mayor Jose Antonio “Toto” Veloso under the National Unity Party (NUP).

All but one of the candidates for city councilor under the NUP slate are incumbents. They are Jonas Cacho, Augstinus “Dodong” Gonzaga, Greggy Gatal, Adam Jala, Jojo Bompat, Dulce Glovasa, Pepot Besas, Vicente Polinar, and Ondoy Borja. The only newcomer is Tim Butalid.

Yap said his re-election bid was his “last dance” as he would be serving his final term as Tagbilaran city mayor if he comes out victorious in the 2019 elections. He first ran for mayor in 2013 after serving as a city councilor (PNA)