Mayor Leonardia, Grupo Progreso win all but 1 seat in Bacolod

0 1,183

The winners in all 15 local elective positions here have been proclaimed by the City Board of Canvassers (CBOC) early Thursday morning.

The proclamation, held at the canvassing hub inside the Sangguniang Panlungsod session hall, took place three days after the May 13 elections, following delays brought by defective secure digital (SD) cards used in at least four vote counting machines.

The ruling Grupo Progreso was the big winner, cornering 14 out of the 15 slots led by reelectionists Lone District Rep. Greg Gasataya, Mayor Evelio Leonardia, and Vice Mayor El Cid Familiaran, who were all given fresh mandates for a second term.

The winners were proclaimed past 5 a.m. by the CBOC chaired by election officer Anjanette Lamban with vice chairman Perico Hernaez and secretary Giovanni Alfonso Miraflores.

The city’s three top officials, who were all endorsed by President Rodrigo Duterte, won with wide margins over their respective opponents.

Gasataya garnered a total of 135,346 votes to foil the comeback bid of former congressman Monico Puentevella, who got 84,705 votes. The third candidate Jan Kevin Moises, a physician, only had 3,751 votes.

Leonardia obtained 144,776 votes, the highest he got in all the elections he ran as mayor. Former councilor Jocelle Batapa-Sigue took 81,248 votes while radio anchorman Ray Carmona got 1,762 votes.

Familiaran won with 126,238 votes against former vice mayor Jude Thaddeus Sayson, who garnered 91,821 votes.

A total of 11 out of the 12 City Council seats went to the Grupo Progreso candidates led by reelectionist Councilor Cindy Rojas, who got the highest vote of 135,011.

Renecito Novero obtained 131,672 votes; Simplicia Distrito, 123,194; Carlos Jose Lopez, 119,883; Al Victor Espino, 116,412; Archie Baribar, 114,567; Israel Salanga, 114,300; Dindo Ramos, 108,218; Bartolome Orola Sr., 106,353; Ana Marie Palermo, 105,683; Elmer Sy, 100,867; and Wilson Gamboa Jr., 87,301.

Novero, Ramos, Orola, Palermo, Sy and Gamboa are all reelectionists while Lopez, Espino and Baribar are comebacking council members. Distrito, the mother of outgoing councilor Caesar Distrito, and Salanga are both first-time councilors.

Gamboa was the lone candidate of the opposition coalition, Asenso para sa Buas-damlag sang Bacolodnon-Magbinuligay Kita sa Kauswagan (ABB-MKK), who barged into the top 12. (PNA)