Marquez seeks Kalibo cityhood

0 27

Aklan Rep. Carlito Marquez (1st district) has filed a bill seeking to convert the capital town of Kalibo, Aklan, along with 27 other municipalities in 14 regions, into component cities.

House Bill No. (HBN) 427 stated that while capital cities serve as centers for trade, commerce, tourism, and the seat of government, they are still just municipalities.

Marquez said automatically converting the capital towns into component cities will provide better opportunities for the localities, autonomy, fiscal viability and larger share of internal revenue allotment that will stimulate growth and development. (

“While municipalities aspire economic viability, they struggle to meet the minimum requirements for cityhood. This includes municipalities in provinces that bear the burden in providing the needs of their constituents, even those who come from adjacent municipalities,” he added.

HBN 427 also seeks to amend Section 450 of the Local Government Code of 1991 or Republic Act 9160, that sets the minimum requirements in converting a municipality or a cluster of barangays into a component city.

Other provinces without cities in its territorial jurisdictions are Jordan, Guimaras and San Jose, Antique (Western Visayas); Alabel, Sarangani (Soccsksargen); Siquijor, Siquijor (Central Visayas); San Jose, Dinagat Islands (Caraga); Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay (Zamboanga Peninsula); Baler, Aurora (Central Luzon); Daet, Camarines Norte and Virac, Catanduanes (Bicol Region); Nabunturan, Compostela Valley and Malita, Davao Occidental (Davao Region); Naval, Biliran and Catarman, Northern Samar (Eastern Visayas).

Other capital towns are Mambajao, Camiguin (Northern Mindanao); Boac, Marinduque; Mamburao, Occidental Mindoro and Romblon, Romblon (Mimaropa); Buluan, Maguindanao; Jolo, Sulu and Bongao, Tawi Tawi (Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao); Basco, Batanes; Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya and Cabarroguis, Quirino (Cagayan Valley); Lagawe, Ifugao; Kabugao, Apayao; Bontoc, Mountain Province and Bangued, Abra (Cordillera Administrative Region).