Iloilo town prohibits entry of travelers from ECQ areas


Residents from areas under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) are prohibited from entering the town of Barotac Viejo in Iloilo province.

The municipal inter-agency task force on Covid-19 has passed a resolution suspending the “non-essential entry” of persons from ECQ areas.

According to Mayor Nielo Tupas, some residents working in Passi City recently went home despite the component city’s ECQ status. (

To ensure compliance, Tupas ordered a strict monitoring on the respective entry and exit points of barangays in the town.

He clarified that the local government unit will only allow entry for people seeking medical needs.