Helping hands: Cebu LGUs chip in P40-M aid for Mindanao quake victims


CEBU CITY — A total of P40 million in cash will be donated by Cebu local government units to the provinces and towns affected by the series of earthquakes in Mindanao, a member of the Cebu Provincial Board on Wednesday said.

Glenn Anthony Soco, a member of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan representing the 6th district, said P20 million of the amount will come from the provincial government.

Soco, who chairs the committee on budget and appropriation of the provincial board, said a resolution was passed during the last Monday’s session authorizing Governor Gwendolyn Garcia to donate the said amount to the victims of earthquake in Cotabato and Davao.

He said the fund will be charged from the “preparedness fund” of the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (PDRRMO).

Garcia told the media here that the assistance will be distributed to LGUs based on the extent of damage brought by the catastrophe.

She said the cash assistance will be given to eight LGUs in Regions 11 (Davao) and 12 (Soccsksargen).

Makilala town, which has the most number of families affected by the tremors that struck the area, will get P7 million of the total fund from the provincial government, the governor said.

Tulunan town in Cotabato and municipality of Magsaysay Davao del Sur will get P3 million each; Kidapawan and Magpet towns, also in Cotabato will receive P2 million each; while the towns of Matanao and Bansalan and the City of Digos in Davao del Sur will get P1 million each.

“The financial assistance is in support for our brothers and sisters in Mindanao. Hinundumi nga kadaghanan diha gikan na sila sa Cebu, daghan mga Sugbuanon diha (Remember, most of the people there are from Cebu, many of them are Cebuanos). Equitably distributed in accordance (with the) number of families or individuals affected,” Garcia said during a press conference on Wednesday at the Cebu Capitol.

The P20-million cash assistance from Cebu provincial government is on top of the P10 million allocated by the Cebu City government on Tuesday for the quake victims in Mindanao.

Raymond Garcia, chair of the committee on budget and finance of the Cebu City Council, who sponsored the resolution, said in a privilege speech that the people in the earthquake-hit areas need the Cebuanos’ immediate help.

“We cannot turn a blind eye to the situation that has befallen our brothers and sisters in Mindanao, especially when we ourselves have been the recipient of the kindness of others in our times of needs during various calamities or disasters,” the councilor told his colleagues.

Meanwhile, the city government of Mandaue also allocated P8 million for the same cause.

Lawyer Eddu Ybañez, executive secretary of Mandaue City Mayor Jonas Cortes, said the amount will be divided for the towns of Tulunan, Makilala, Arakan, President Roxas, Magpet and Imran and the city of Kidapawan, all in Cotabato.

Both the cities of Talisay and Lapu-Lapu also pledged last Monday to give financial assistance to the quake victims.

Mayor Gerald Anthony “Samsam” Gullas of Talisay approved the council resolution extending P1-million aid.

Mayor Junard “Ahong” Chan of Lapu-Lapu is still waiting for the city council to grant his request to authorize him to give P1 million to the quake victims. The council will convene on Thursday. (Fe Marie Dumaboc/PNA)