Find out who are exempted from Cebu’s tough border control measures


CEBU CITY – Governor Gwendolyn Garcia reimposes strict border control with the capital city to help Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu in addressing coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) contagion here.

Garcia issued Executive Order No. 17-H, saying that “there is an urgent need to reinstitute the strict controls of borders defined by the city of Mandaue in the north, city of Talisay in the south, municipality of Balamban in the west and municipality of Cordova in the island of Mactan”.

The new EO that will take effect on Friday (June 26) re instituted section 8 of EO No. 17 which said that “no person shall be allowed entry into the territorial jurisdiction of the Province of Cebu” and enumerated officials who are exempted from the entry ban.

Apart from the governor, vice governor, board members and mayors, also exempted from entry ban are justices of the judiciary, prosecutors, Ombudsman and his deputies, Cebuano lawmakers and officials of regional agencies. They are only required to present official identification cards (ID).

Private and government doctors, nurses and other medical professional care required to present Professional Regulation Commission-issued license, ID and certification from the hospital.

Other hospital workers, administrative staff and janitors are also required to show their ID to the quarantine control point personnel. Hospital janitors are likewise required to present certification, aside from their IDs.

Philippine Red Cross (PRC) members and personnel of the Department of Health who are in skeletal workforce are also exempted, although they are required to present IDs. PRC staff are required to present Cebu government pass, apart from the ID.

Media personnel accredited by the provincial government are required to present ID and Cebu government pass.

Members of the Philippine National Police, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine Coast Guard and other security personnel are only required to present official ID.

Border checkpoints will require field personnel of electricity, fuel and petroleum companies to present their ID and capitol-issued pass.

But field personnel from the Visayan Electric Company, Metro Cebu Water District (MCWD), Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co., Globe, Smart and Sun are required to present their job order and travel order stating the purpose of the travel, apart from the ID and pass.

“Lawyers in the private practice (who are) only to attend scheduled hearings in the different municipalities and component cities of the province as well as for those who will provide legal representation necessary to protect the rights of persons under custodial investigation, to bail, and to counsel during inquest proceedings (are also exempted),” the EO read.

Lawyers are, however, required to present their Integrated Bar of the Philippines membership card and court order or resolution “that reflect their scheduled hearing” at the checkpoints.

Persons with pre-existing medical conditions that necessitate treatment in a medical facility are required to present medical certificate and a certification from the local chief executive of the local government unit having jurisdiction over his or her residence.

Delivery vehicles carrying cargo and essential goods are only allowed to carry a maximum of two personnel, including the driver. They are required to present cargo vehicle pass and delivery receipt or other similar documents.

Personnel working in funeral parlors transporting deceased person for burial, as well as the bereaved family members, officiating priest, imams, or pastors are required to obtain certification from the Office of the Governor or her duly appointed authorized representative.

They are also required to secure permission from mayors of local government units having jurisdiction on the final resting place of the deceased.

The EO said there shall only be 10 persons, excluding direct family members, in the funeral service while strict (physical) distancing is required.

“The passes issued by the provincial government shall bear the signature of the Governor at the front. The signatures of the Provincial Administrator and the Governor’s Chief of Staff shall be indicated at the back,” Garcia said in her order.

She said that the PNP will be provided with approved lists of persons issued with provincial passes. (PNA)