Duterte signs law creating Mandaue City district


President Rodrigo Duterte has signed a law creating the lone legislative district of Mandaue City in the province of Cebu.

Duterte signed Republic Act. No. 11257 on April 5 and a copy of which was released to media on Wednesday (May 8).

The law separates Mandaue City from the sixth legislative district of the province of Cebu to constitute the lone legislative district of Mandaue City.

“The City of Mandaue is hereby separated from the Sixth Legislative District of the Province of Cebu to constitute the Lone Legislative District of the City of Mandaue, which shall commence in the next national and local elections after the effectivity of this Act,” the law reads.

According to the law, incumbent representatives of the present sixth legislative district of Cebu will continue to represent the district until new representatives of Mandaue City have been elected.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) will issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement the provisions of the law within 30 days after its effectivity.

This new law, which originated in the House of Representatives, was passed by the House and Senate of the Philippines on Dec. 4, 2018 and February 4, 2019, respectively.

It will take effect 15 days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation. (PNA)