Dumaguete City poll winners proclaimed: Mayor Remollo re-elected

0 486

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) proclaimed early Tuesday the winners in Monday’s balloting here.

Incumbent Mayor Felipe Antonio Remollo was re-elected with total garnered votes of 39,380 over rivals William Ablong, who got 20,434 votes, and Kinix Ramirez, who received 746 votes.

Running as an independent candidate, Vice Mayor-elect Alan Gel Cordova, an incumbent councilor, earned 29,345 votes, beating incumbent Vice Mayor Franklin Esmeña, Jr. who received 26,891 votes and Nelson Layague, who got 849 votes.

The 10 candidates who made it to the city council were lawyer Karissa Faye Tolentino (37,165 votes); Chaco Sagarbarria (35,553); Joe Kenneth Arbas (34,985); lawyer Michael Maxino Bandal (32,511); Edgar Lentorio, Jr. (30,744); Agustin Perdices (28,824); Bernice Ann Elmaco (27,839); Lilani Ramon (26,474); Nelson Patrimonio (25,796), and Roselle Erames (24,865).

Tolentino, Sagarbarria, Arbas, Bandal, Perdices, and Ramon are incumbent councilors, Patrimonio a former councilor, while Elmaco, Lentorio Jr., and Erames are neophyte local legislators.

OIC City Election Officer Juvenal Tuale proclaimed the winners around 2:30 a.m. at the City Session Hall.

The Comelec reported a 72-percent voters’ turnout here for the midterm polls.

This means that out of the city’s 89,193 registered voters, 64,959 had actually voted. (PNA)