Comelec proclaims Bacolod poll winners


The Commission on Elections has proclaimed the winners of the May midterm polls in Bacolod City.

Rep. Greg Gasataya, Mayor Evelio Leonardia, and Vice Mayor El Cid Familiaran all won their re-election bid.

Gasataya got 135,346 votes against former mayor Monico Puentevella’s 84,705 votes and Dr. Kevin Moises’ 3,751 votes.

Leonardia (144,776 votes) defeated former councilor Jocelle Batapa-Sigue (81,248 votes) and broadcaster Ray Carmona (1,762 votes).

Familiaran had 126,238 votes while his rival former vice mayor Jude Thaddeus Sayson received 91,821 votes.

Leonardia’s Grupo Progreso (GP) also took control of the city council races with 11 members.

They are Cindy Rojas, Renecito Novero, Simple Distrito, Carl Lopez, Al Espino, Archie Baribar, Israel Salanga, Dindo Ramos, Bart Orola, Ana Marie Palermo, and Elmer Sy.

Wilson Gamboa Jr. is the only non-GP member who won a seat in the city council.