Dinagyang organizers wear new faces

0 482

A group of business leaders in Iloilo City will replace the organizers of the world-famous annual Dinagyang Festival.

Chaired by Rito Carlos Peña, the Iloilo Festivals Foundation, Inc. (ICFFI) will replace Iloilo Dinagyang Foundation Inc., the festival’s erstwhile organizer.

Florete will serve in the board of directors alongside fellow traders Philipp Chua, Honorato Espinosa, Molly Grande, Jose Marie Layson, John Alexander Que, Allan Ryan Tan, and Luis Tinsay (

The IFFI’s vice chairman is Felipe Uygongco while Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI) Iloilo Chapter President Jobert Peñaflorida will serve as president.

Meanwhile, Iloilo Paraw Regatta Festival organizer Dr. Ronald Raymon Sebastian is the IFFI vice president, together with Angel de Leon, Jr., (corporate secretary), Roland Uy (treasurer) and Ivy Gurrea (assistant treasurer).

The group met with Mayor Jerry Treñas last week to lay down initial plans on the Dinagyang Festival 2020 in January.

Earlier, Treñas decided to replace the long-time organizer of the Dinagyang Festival, saying he had difficulties working with IDFI.

But he said he has asked the new foundation to ensure it would be apolitical.