Bagong department! Iloilo creates public safety body


Iloilo City now has a Public Safety Department that will coordinate transportation and traffic, as well as efforts against squatting.

The department’s creation was unanimously approved Tuesday, July 4, during the city council’s regular session that took up the matter.

Under the setup, the Public Safety and Transportation Management Office (PSTMO) will have five divisions: Administrative, Special Services, Transportation Management, Public Safety, and Anti-Squatting and Illegal Structure Unit.

The Special Services Division will be in charge of sidewalk and ambulant vendors in all city streets and jaywalkers while, ASIS will concentrate on professional squatters.