Aklan has 8 new town mayors

0 22

The Province of Aklan will have eight new mayors.

In Kalibo, Sangguniang Panlalawigan member Juris Bautista Sucro garnered 25,907 votes against Mayor Emerson Sucgang Lachica’s 18,968 votes.

Former New Washington councilor Jessica Regenio Panambo (14,218 votes) also won the hotly-contested mayoral race against reelectionist Mayor Shimonette Peralta Francisco (13,941 voters).

Michael Reyes Ramos defeated Jindra Linda Laurente Demeterio and Dante Tulio Reyes in the Batan mayoralty race. (

Ramos had 10,434 votes while Demeterio and Reyes received 6,294 votes and 1,778 votes, respectively.

Meanwhile, former Altavas vice mayor Denny Dalida Refol Sr. ran unopposed and obtained 10,531 votes for mayor.

Vice mayor Noel Lipana Redison (13,122 votes) won against Roginie Jamison Villar (9,924 votes) to become the new Banga mayor.

Outgoing Madalag vice mayor Rex Tupas Gubatina also prevailed in the tight mayoral election with 5,714 votes against Joemar Villas Legaspi’s 5,153 votes.

In Makato, outgoing vice mayor Ramon Anselmo Martin Dayan Legaspi III secured the mayoral post with 9,508 votes against 8,728 votes of outgoing councilor Abencio Honeyboy Pajanustan Torres III.

Maria Fe Taunan Lasaleta (9,522) won as Nabas mayor, defeating her closest opponent Noli Dioso Palomata, who got 9,271. Another contender Lee Antipas Barrientos Sabar obtained 2,005 votes.

Outgoing provincial board member Jose Miguel Martin Miraflores, who ran unopposed, also won the mayoral race in Ibajay with 23,940 votes.