Ahong party sweeps Lapu-Lapu seats

0 15

The Lapu-Lapu City Board of Canvassers has proclaimed the candidates under the Team Ahong-Team Libre as winners in the May 9 local elections.

Reelectionist mayor Junard “Ahong” Chan (160,664 votes) won against Rep. Paz Radaza of Team Deretso (49,535 votes).

Chan’s wife, Cindi (147,631 votes), also defeated Team Deretso’s bet, incumbent councilor Michael Dignos, who got 38,844 votes. (

For the vice-mayoralty race, incumbent vice-mayor Celsi Sitoy of Team Libre earned 135,533 votes to beat incumbent councilor Rico Amores of Team Deretso and Randel Canton of Pederalismo ng Dugong Dakilang Samahan (PDDS) who got 51,618 and 5,433 votes, respectively.

Twelve of Team Libre’s councilorial bets also won the polls.

They are Eugene Espedido (135,598 votes), Annabeth Cuizon (131,625 votes), Jun Alforque (130,357 votes), Tino Aying (129,665 votes), Susan Baring (129,408 votes), Janvi dela Cerna (129,241 votes), Efren Herrera (126,218 votes), Nelson Yap (125,932 votes), Montor Tatoy (115,436 votes), Jeorgen Eyas-Book (114,589 votes), Emilio Galarosa (114,170 votes), and Joseph Pangatungan (114,047).

Chan thanked the Oponganons for their continued support and trust in his administration.

He also expressed his gratitude to Radaza for admitting her defeat, adding that he’s open to working together with his opponents.