7 Negrense solons vote for Cayetano as House Speaker

0 687

All seven congressmen of Negros Occidental province voted for Rep. Alan Cayetano as Speaker of the 18th Congress.

“I voted for him not because he is my classmate but because I believe in his leadership and capability as House Speaker,” said Bacolod City Rep. Greg Gasataya in a Daily Guardian article.

Rep. Marilou Arroyo-Lesaca (5th district) also voted for Cayetano, a former senator.

Other representatives who voted for Cayetano were Gerardo Vallmayor (1st district), Rafael Leo Cueva (2nd district), Francisco Benitez (3rd district), Juliet Ferrer (4th district), and Genaro Alvarez (6th district).

Only Abang Lingkod party-list Rep. Joseph Stephen Paduano voted for Rep. Bienvenido Abante.

He voted for Abante because he is from the minority, explained Paduano.

Cayetano won the speakership race with 266 votes while Abante got 28 votes.