15 Iloilo towns now have full access to toilets


At least 15 towns in Iloilo province finally have access to safe toilets and can now be considered to have achieved “Zero Open Defecation” status.

Provincial Health Office chief Dr. Patricia Grace Trabado said they will continue their campaign to achieve the ZOD status in the entire province this year.

The PHO said that as of Dec. 30, 2018, the towns with ZOD status include.

Banate (18 barangays)
Barotac Viejo (26 barangays)
Batad (24 barangays)
Bingawan (14 barangays)
Igbaras (46 barangays)
Janiuay (60 barangays)
Lemery (31 barangays)
Miag-ao (119 barangays)
Mina (22 barangays)
New Lucena (21 barangays)
Oton (37 barangays)
Passi City (51 barangays)
San Miguel (24 barangays)
San Rafael (9 barangays)
San Joaquin (85 barangays)

Meanwhile, the province is targeting ZOD status soon for Dingle, Tigbauan, and Cabatuan. Trabado said they are aiming to have all local government units in Iloilo achieve ZOD status by 2020.

The PHO noted open defecation may heighten the risk of diarrhea, cholera and other waterborne diseases, intestinal worm infections, and malnutrition and stunting of children.

But Trabado said that while the government is ready to provide help, households also have the responsibility to take care of themselves and the environment.